Can You Declare A Ball Lost?

A player cannot render a ball lost by a declaration — see Definition of ‘Lost Ball’.

Once you have made a stroke at another ball, under penalty of stroke and distance, it does not matter if your original ball is then found, as it is no longer the ball in play.

What is the penalty for a lost ball?

a.

At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

What happens if you lose a ball in golf?

A golf ball is deemed “lost” after a player declares it lost. This can occur immediately after a played golf shot if a player is virtually certain the ball can not be found, or it can occur automatically after allowing the player and/or the player’s caddie to search for the ball for no longer than 5 minutes.

Is a lost ball a 2 stroke penalty?

Yes, that means that a lost ball is a stroke and distance penalty. Now, to help keep the pace of play, if you think that your ball may be lost or out of bounds, you as a player are entitled under Rule 27-2-a to play a provisional ball.

When can you declare an unplayable lie?

The penalty is one stroke. In the rulebook in effect through the end of 2018, unplayable lies are covered under Rule 28, Ball Unplayable: “The player may declare his ball unplayable at any place on the course except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.”