Can You Ground Your Club In The Sand In 2019?

GOLF RULES 2019: NEW KNEE HEIGHT DROP RULE

On top of this, golfers can move loose impediments in bunkers and will not be penalised for generally grounding their club away from their ball.

However, you still CANNOT ground your club when playing a BUNKER shot.

Can you ground your club in the sand now?

The New Rule: Under Rules 12.2a and 12.2b, the player will be allowed to touch or move loose impediments in a bunker and will be generally allowed to touch the sand with a hand or club. You still can’t intentionally touch the sand to “test” it. And you can’t clip the sand during a practice swing.

Can you ground your club in hazard?

Grounding Your Club in a Hazard

Practice swings may be taken inside a hazard as long as you don’t touch the ground, sand, or water with your club. The top of the grass may be touched during a practice swing. The penalty for grounding your club is loss of the hole in Match Play or a two-shot penalty in Stroke Play.

Can you ground your club in a fairway bunker?

Penalty Strokes

It is treated as an area that the USGA defines as “through the green,” which includes the fairway, rough and all other areas on the course that are not bunkers or hazards. The penalty for grounding your club in a sand bunker, or hitting the sand on a practice swing, is two strokes.

Why can’t you ground your club in a bunker?

Rule: Grounding Your Club In A Bunker. The reason you can’t ground your club in a bunker is that you might (a) be able to move enough sand to improve your lie and (b) you might be able to “test the surface,” i.e. figure out if there’s a lot of sand under your ball, not much sand, soft sand, hard sand, rocks, etc.