Quick Answer: Can You Hit A Moving Ball In Golf?

So, under the Rules of Golf, it’s expressly illegal for a golfer to hit a ball or putt a ball while it’s still moving — be it bouncing, rolling on the putting surface or even in the air.

The ball has to be at a complete stop when a player hits it, or otherwise the golfer is breaking Rule 14-5.

What happens if you hit a moving ball in golf?

The player continues his stroke and strikes the ball while it is still moving. Is there a penalty? Unless it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause his ball to move, the player incurs a one stroke penalty under Rule 18-2b for his ball in play moving after he addressed it.

Can you move your ball in golf?

There is no penalty for accidentally moving the ball when on the tee. If, in moving loose impediments, you accidentally move your ball, you must return the ball to its original position and penalize yourself one (1) stroke. It is against the rules of golf to ask an opponent what club they have hit.

Can you putt a moving ball?

An action expressly permitted or expressly prohibited by another Rule is subject to that other Rule, not Rule 1-2. The rule about hitting a moving ball (14-5) is pretty explicit. He made a stroke at a moving ball.

Is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green 2019?

(1) No Penalty for Accidentally Causing Ball to Move. There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green. The player must: Replace the ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), or.