Quick Answer: Can You Mark Your Ball In A Bunker?

When Your Ball Is in Bunker

Your ball is in a bunker when any part of it touches sand on the ground inside the edge of the bunker.

Your ball is also in a bunker if it is inside the edge of the bunker and rests: On ground where sand would normally be, or.

Can I declare a ball unplayable in a bunker?

Fact is, a golfer can declare any ball unplayable, at any time, for any reason, and anywhere on the course other than in a penalty area (a water hazard or any other area marked with red stakes or yellow stakes). The penalty is one stroke.

What are the rule changes in golf for 2019?

2019 Rule: Under Rule 11.1, for all accidental deflections, including when the ball hits the player or opponent or their equipment or caddies: ➢ There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies (with limited exceptions).

Can you take relief in a bunker?

New Rule: The player has an extra option allowing relief outside the bunker using the back-on-the-line procedure, but for a total of two penalty strokes (Rule 19.3b). Reasons for Change: Giving those players an option for taking relief outside the bunker allows them to keep playing rather than being disqualified.

Can you touch sand when in a bunker?

The New Rule: Under Rules 12.2a and 12.2b, the player will be allowed to touch or move loose impediments in a bunker and will be generally allowed to touch the sand with a hand or club. You still can’t intentionally touch the sand to “test” it. And you can’t clip the sand during a practice swing.