Can You Take A Drop On The Green?

“If a player has interference by a wrong putting green, the player must take relief, without penalty, as follows: We found his nearest point of relief, and he dropped the ball within one club-length of that point and played back over the trees to the 14th green.

Can you drop a ball on the putting green?

In these cases the player may drop the ball on the putting green, in fact they may not place a ball on the putting green, as the Rules do not permit. As above, a ball dropped on a wrong putting green that comes to rest on it must then be lifted and dropped according to Rule 25-3.

What happens if your ball lands on the wrong green?

Under USGA Rule 25-3, if a player’s ball is on a wrong putting green, he must take relief and drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

Do you get relief from sprinkler head near Green?

In other words, only when the Local Rule is in effect may you get relief for an immovable obstruction (sprinkler head) near to the green that is on your line of play. Let’s look more closely at the situation. A sprinkler head is an immovable obstruction and is covered by Rule 24-2.

Do you get relief from a tree in golf?

If this is the case, and the tree interferes with your stance or the area of your intended swing, relief can be taken without penalty, akin to an immovable obstruction. Just drop the ball within one club-length of—and not nearer the hole than— the nearest point of relief.