Quick Answer: Can You Take An Unplayable In A Bunker?

You May Decide to Take Unplayable Ball Relief Anywhere Except Penalty Area.

You are the only person who may decide to treat your ball as unplayable.

Unplayable ball relief is allowed anywhere on the course, except in a penalty area.

Can you take a penalty drop out of a bunker?

Players are still allowed to drop in the bunker within two club-lengths of the ball, or, behind the ball on a straight line from the hole, for one penalty stroke. But if they want to go out of the sand, under the new rules addition, it will cost an additional stroke.

Can you take an unplayable out of a bunker?

If you choose to take an unplayable lie in the bunker, and you want to use option 2 or 3 above, you must drop the ball in the bunker. In other words you can’t use two club lengths or the extension of the line between your ball and the hole to get you out of the sand.

When can you declare an unplayable lie?

The penalty is one stroke. In the rulebook in effect through the end of 2018, unplayable lies are covered under Rule 28, Ball Unplayable: “The player may declare his ball unplayable at any place on the course except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.”

What are the options for an unplayable lie?

The penalty for doing so is one stroke. Your three options include going back to the point where you played your previous stroke, taking a drop within two club lengths, or moving straight back anywhere along an extension of a line between the flagstick and where your ball originally came to rest.