Question: Does It Count If The Golf Ball Bounces Out Of The Hole?

If your golfball bounces in and then out of the hole, it counts as one stroke of course.

A ball is “holed” when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

This makes it clear that the hole is not finished.

How long can you wait for a golf ball to drop in the hole?

ten seconds

Does the golf ball have to hit the bottom of the cup?

“When the ball is holed” is the part we’re most concerned with; the very first rule in the rule book says that the point of the game is to get the ball into the hole. Once you’ve done that, your play of that hole is finished. You’ve completed play of a hole as soon as your ball finds the cup.

What happens if my golf ball hits another golf ball?

There is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green moves another ball. However, in stroke play, when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes.

How deep is the hole in golf?

In the definitions section, the Rules of Golf states, “The hole must be 4¼” inches (108 mm) in diameter and at least 4 inches (101.6 mm) deep.