Question: How Many Penalty Shots Do You Get For A Lost Ball?

In summary, the penalty for a lost ball or a ball hit out of bounds is one stroke and distance.

You’ll need to go back to the point where you hit your last shot.

How many penalty strokes do you get for a lost ball?

The penalty for the breach of Rule 27-1 would be loss of hole in match play, or two stroke penalty in stroke play. The correct method of play would be to return to the spot from which the original ball was last played, and under penalty of one stroke, continue play from there.

How many penalties do you get for a lost ball in golf?

According to the Rules of Golf, a player who hits a ball of bounds must consider the ball out of play and must, under penalty of one stroke, hit the next shot from as near the spot where the original ball was played.

Can you deem a ball lost in golf?

A player cannot render a ball lost by a declaration — see Definition of ‘Lost Ball’. Once you have made a stroke at another ball, under penalty of stroke and distance, it does not matter if your original ball is then found, as it is no longer the ball in play.

How many provisional balls can you hit in golf?

Rule 18 Covers Provisional Balls

In the rule book, provisional balls are covered under Rule 18 — specifically, in Rule 18.3, the third of three sections under Rule 18.