Question: How Many Stroke Penalties Do You Get For Water?

Ball in Water Hazard (Rule 26-1)

If you find your ball in a water hazard, you can always try to play it without penalty.

Otherwise, it’s a stroke-plus-distance penalty.

Option 1: Take a 1-stroke penalty and return to the spot of the original shot to re-play.

How many strokes is a water penalty?

Under penalty of one stroke, if the ball entered into a water hazard, (yellow stakes and/or lines) or a lateral water hazard (red stakes and/or lines), the player may play a ball from as near as possible to where the original was last played (Rule 26-1a), or drop a ball behind the hazard keeping the point where the

How many strokes do you lose when you hit the ball in the water?

Lost in a Hazard

If the ball is in a lateral hazard, (water running parallel to the direction of play), the player may drop a ball within two club lengths from the spot where the ball entered the hazard and no nearer the hole. Each option includes a one-stroke penalty.

What does a one stroke penalty mean?

Unplayable lies. One-stroke penalty. Drop the ball (no nearer the hole) within. two club lengths of the original spot; drop the ball as far back as. you want, keeping the original spot between you and the hole; or.

What violation will result in a one stroke penalty?

In golf, which violations will result in a one-stroke penalty? If your ball moves once you’ve taken your address, it’s a 1-stroke penalty. The ball must be replaced on its original spot. Players can remove loose impediments without penalty as long as the ball and the loose impediment are not both in a hazard.