Quick Answer: What Happens If You Hit A Golf Ball Into A Water Hazard?

1.

Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point which your ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard (“X”) DIRECTLY between the hole and the spot you want to drop it, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped.

What is the penalty for hitting a golf ball into a water hazard?

Under penalty of one stroke, if the ball entered into a water hazard, (yellow stakes and/or lines) or a lateral water hazard (red stakes and/or lines), the player may play a ball from as near as possible to where the original was last played (Rule 26-1a), or drop a ball behind the hazard keeping the point where the

Where do I drop after water hazard?

1. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point which your ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard (“X”) DIRECTLY between the hole and the spot you want to drop it, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped. 2.

How many strokes do you lose when you hit the ball in the water?

Lost in a Hazard

If the ball is in a lateral hazard, (water running parallel to the direction of play), the player may drop a ball within two club lengths from the spot where the ball entered the hazard and no nearer the hole. Each option includes a one-stroke penalty.

Where can I drop off a water hazard?

From the spot where your ball crossed into the hazard, drop outside the lateral water hazard within two club-lengths of that spot; or on the opposite side of the hazard at a point equidistant to the hole.

How do you take a drop from a water hazard?

Drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole. In other words, if “X” is 120 yards from the hole, you can drop a ball on the opposite side at a point 120 yards from the hole.

Can you hit out of a water hazard?

Remember that there does not have to be water for an area to be marked a hazard and if your ball is in a hazard you cannot ground your club prior to hitting the shot. If you take relief from a hazard it is always a one stroke penalty, but there are many different options and knowing them can save you strokes.

How do you drop from a yellow hazard?

When a golfer hits their ball in a yellow-stake water hazard, the golfer has two options to drop the ball, take relief and incur a one-stroke penalty: Drop the ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point where the original shot went in the water hazard between where the golfer drops and the hole.