Quick Answer: What Happens If You Hit An Opponent’s Ball In Golf?

Under Rule 15-1 of the standard Rules of Golf, a player must hole out with the ball he hits off the tee, except when the ball is lost, hit out of bounds or substituted.

Hitting the wrong ball during any competition played under the Rules of Golf will typically result in a penalty.

Is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green 2019?

(1) No Penalty for Accidentally Causing Ball to Move. There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green. The player must: Replace the ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), or.

What is the penalty for playing the wrong ball in match play?

A. In match play, you incur a loss of hole penalty. In stroke play, you get a two-stroke penalty and must correct your mistake by playing your ball (see Rule 6.3(1)). If your ball is lost, then you must proceed under stroke and distance.

What is the penalty for playing out of turn in golf?

c. Playing Out of Turn If a player plays when his opponent should have played, there is no penalty, but the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke so made and, in correct order, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5).

Can you use a different ball for putting?

Can I use a Putting Ball? Thus, the substitution of a ball on the putting green other than when permitted by the Rules (i.e, a ball unfit for play) is contrary to Rule 15-2. However, a player may change golf balls between the play of two holes.