Quick Answer: What Happens If You Hit The Pin In Golf?

Most golfers know that you can’t putt from on the green with the flagstick in the hole… well, you can, as long as your ball doesn’t strike it!

If it does, you lose the hole in match play, or incur a two-stroke penalty and have to play the ball as it lies in stroke play.

What is the penalty for hitting the flagstick while putting?

The Old Rule: Hitting the flagstick with your ball from on the green resulted in a two-stroke penalty. The New Rule: According to the USGA, under Rule 13.2a(2), “There will no longer be a penalty if a ball played from the putting green hits a flagstick left in the hole.”

Can you putt with the flag in 2019?

As of the start of the 2019 calendar year, golfers of all levels can now putt with the flagstick left in the hole. Caddies can also take the flag out or have it attended – previously the only two options.

Does leaving the pin in help?

This doesn’t sound like much space, especially if the pin is leaning slightly toward the golfer. This effect, however, has been tested, and my studies show conclusively that you should putt with the pin in! The test results were conclusive: You will hole a higher percentage of putts when you leave the flagstick in.

Can you leave the flag in the hole when putting?

2019 rules changes: No penalty for putting with the flag in

Under the 2019 rules, you will be allowed to keep the flagstick in the hole while putting on the green.