Quick Answer: What Happens If You Whiff In Golf?

In contrast to a practice swing where a swing is also performed but no contact with the ball is made, a whiff occurs when there is intent on striking the ball.

A whiff still counts as a stroke and because no distance is gained at all it constitutes a shot error that should be avoided at all cost.

Why do I whiff the golf ball?

Whiff is an air shot where a golfer completely misses a ball. One of the reasons why you miss a golf ball or hit the topped shots is lifting your upper body on the backswing. If you do this during the backswing, you are going to have to drop down to compensate. This can cause lots of topped shots or fat shots.

What happens if you swing and miss in golf?

You count a stroke anytime you swing at the ball— even if you miss it. Practice swings are not counted as strokes. If you cause the ball to accidentally move when in the fairway, rough or on the green, you normally incur a 1- stroke penalty under Rule 18 and you must replace your ball.

What happens if a golf ball hits another golf ball?

There is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping) moves another ball. However, in stroke play, when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes.

Does a fresh air shot count in golf?

A shot where the player addresses the balls, swings, and completely misses the golf-ball. An air shot is counted as a stroke. See also whiff. A hole played three strokes under par.