Question: What Is The Penalty For Going In The Water In Golf?

What happens when a golf ball goes in the water?

Under penalty of one stroke, if the ball entered into a water hazard, (yellow stakes and/or lines) or a lateral water hazard (red stakes and/or lines), the player may play a ball from as near as possible to where the original was last played (Rule 26-1a), or drop a ball behind the hazard keeping the point where the

How many stroke penalties do you get for water?

Ball in Water Hazard (Rule 26-1)

If you find your ball in a water hazard, you can always try to play it without penalty. Otherwise, it’s a stroke-plus-distance penalty. Option 1: Take a 1-stroke penalty and return to the spot of the original shot to re-play.

Where do I drop after water hazard?

1. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point which your ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard (“X”) DIRECTLY between the hole and the spot you want to drop it, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped. 2.

What is the penalty for OB in golf?

The penalty for OB is commonly called “stroke and distance.” This means that a one-stroke penalty is added to the score, and the ball must then be dropped as nearly as possible to the spot from which the original shot was played.