He must stand erect, hold the ball at shoulder height and arm’s length and drop it.
If a ball is dropped by any other person or in any other manner and the error is not corrected as provided in Rule 20-6, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.
When should I take a drop in golf?
A golfer typically takes a drop after hitting his ball in an area from which he either can’t play another shot or chooses not to play his next shot. As a general rule, if the ball is in a hazard or is out of bounds, the player is assessed a penalty stroke for taking the drop.
How do you take a drop from a water hazard?
Drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole. In other words, if “X” is 120 yards from the hole, you can drop a ball on the opposite side at a point 120 yards from the hole.
Can you drop in a hazard?
You can play the ball out of the hazard if possible, which should be considered but remember that in most cases it is best to drop the ball under a penalty of one stroke unless you have a high percentage shot out of the hazard.
Can you drop on green?
It states that a ball must be re-dropped if it rolls onto a putting green, and refers only to balls that are not permitted to be dropped on a green. When your two club-length relief from a lateral water hazard or an unplayable condition is on the green, you are dropping a ball on the green.