Quick Answer: When Can You Not Ground Your Club In Golf?

On top of this, golfers can move loose impediments in bunkers and will not be penalised for generally grounding their club away from their ball.

However, you still CANNOT ground your club when playing a BUNKER shot.

Can you ground your club in a penalty area?

Areas of desert, jungle, lava rock, etc. (in addition to areas of water) may now be marked as red or yellow “penalty areas.” No penalty for moving loose impediments, touching the ground, or grounding your club in a penalty area. Relief allowed outside a bunker for an unplayable ball for two penalty strokes.

What are new golf rules for 2019?

2019 Rule: Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke: ➢ There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.

Can you ground your club in a fairway bunker?

Penalty Strokes

It is treated as an area that the USGA defines as “through the green,” which includes the fairway, rough and all other areas on the course that are not bunkers or hazards. The penalty for grounding your club in a sand bunker, or hitting the sand on a practice swing, is two strokes.

When can you ground your club in a bunker?

Under Rule 13-4 of the standard Rules of Golf, a player may not ground the club in a bunker before striking, although there are a few exceptions.